One more addition to the closet… Update $40 Fall/Winter Clothing challenge

Since our fall & winter have been so mild I just never got terribly concerned with getting a whole lot bought for me or finishing out my $40 Fall/Winter Clothes Challenge.  I picked up a handful of things early then needed to cut spending some more so clothes became more of a want than a need.  We’ve had such a mild winter that I’ve mixed in so much of my warmer weather stuff that it just hasn’t mattered that I don’t have a full winter wardrobe. 

Today I stopped by the thrift store with a garbage bag full of donations and I had a couple of things I was hoping to pick up for Lulu’s birthday party.  I hit a couple of spots in the store and found something on my wish list!!  Tall, high heel brown boots!! I have tall, high heel black boots and I wear them all the time and I often wish that I had a pair of brown ones just like them.   Today I found them!

Beautiful boots with no wear on the bottom.  Priced at $9.88.  I would have paid $9.88 for them too but they had a white tag and this week white tags are 50% off.  So I bought gorgeous nearly new boots for $4.94!

I’m declaring my $40 Fall/Winter Clothing Challenge done! I know the groundhog said 6 more weeks of winter but since it was 75 here yesterday and I debated turning on the air in the house, I’ll take my chances on the whole 6 more weeks of winter thing. 

In the end, I’ve spent $25.58 and I bought a skirt, 2 shirts, 3 sweaters & a pair of boots.

This entry was posted in $40 Fall/Winter Wardrobe Challenge, Thrift Shopping and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to One more addition to the closet… Update $40 Fall/Winter Clothing challenge

  1. Lisa says:

    Woohoo!!! Hooker boots (as we call them) are my FAVORITE!! I LOVE LOVE LOVE them and your’s are super CUTE and CHEAP!! Yay!! I wear mine year round here, and it never gets colder than 75 degrees here! I’m excited for you! Can you tell!?!?!?!?

  2. Julie says:

    Love those boots! I tried on some black boots at Goodwill last week but apparently my calves are too big. 😦 I need black ones with almost no heel so hard to find for cheap.

  3. joy at home says:

    Great find ~ Great boots! and you sure can’t beat the price !

Leave a Reply

