27 cents…

Exactly how much I have left in the grocery budget for the week after my quick trip to the store yesterday.  I still forgot the bread that was at the top of my list.  I also forgot my list, my purse, my checkbook and my debit card.  

I was already 15 miles from the house when I realized I left my purse sitting on my bed.   I decided it wasn’t worth the cost of the gas to go back home and come right back to the store.  I went to the bank instead and talked to the most sympathetic looking female I could find (women totally understand the “I was in a hurry and left my purse sitting on the bed” thing).  I quickly explained that I need $40 from our account so I could buy groceries.  I verified all of my info and left with my grocery money in hand.  We’ve been doing the “cash thing”  for groceries for a few months now but this was the first time I had ever gone into the store with only my cash in hand (no debit card, no checkbook, no credit card & no stash of loose change at the bottom of my purse).  

Did I mention I also left my list at home??? I got a text from hubby half way through the store “need lunch stuff for work”.  Ugh, start rethinking the groceries already in the buggy & continue to try to remember everything that was already on my well thought out list.  I give up trying to remember my list and stick to just trying to remember the menu plan for the week.  I do a little bit better with that method and started buying what I thought I was missing from each of those meals.  Once I got to the frozen section, I grabbed hubby’s lunches (I am so thankful that he loves Aldi’s .29 cent burritos & their off brand hot pockets) enough for the next couple of weeks.   I hadn’t done a great job of keeping up with the prices in the store.  So I put everything on the checkout in order of importance (crazy, I know) and then I told the cashier that I couldn’t go over $40.  I’ll have to get better at that part of the whole shopping with cash thing because I ended up leaving 5 or 6 things at the store but the moral of the story is I left the store .27 under budget. 

Priceless quote of the day from hubby after I shared my great accomplishment….  “Hey Honey! Why didn’t you get any bread when you went to the store???”   Bread will have to wait until next week because by goodness we are under budget for this week and we are staying there!

This entry was posted in Budget, Cutting the Budget, Life Happens and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 27 cents…

  1. joy at home says:

    oh no! not the bread! oops!

  2. I want to try the cash envelope system but have been afraid to do that, lol. I am going to venture and try to stick to my budget one day. good for you for sticking to it!

Leave a Reply

